Rediff.com |  Feedback  
You are here: » Rediff Home » Discussion Boards » Permalink
  
View : Single Message | Complete Thread | Read complete Discussion
Last line wrong
by INDIAN on Mar 22, 2007 04:26 PM   Permalink | Hide replies

The last line - "India can still make it to Super-8 despite losing to Sri Lanka on 23rd. But for that Bangladesh has to lose to Bermuda." is wrong, as according to the rules, then both India and Bangaladesh would have same points and the tie would be decided not on the NRR but on the winner of he game among them and Bangladesh would go in. The NRR scenario come in only if there is a triangular tie between team. A beats B, B beats C, C beats A.

    Forward  |  Report abuse
  RE:Last line wrong
by Dr Shivago on Mar 22, 2007 04:28 PM   Permalink
The scenario arises only when Bermuda beats Bangladesh. In such a case Bermuda, Bangladesh and India have 2 points and your case of A, B and C opens up

   Forward   |   Report abuse
  RE:RE:Last line wrong
by gunjan pandey on Mar 22, 2007 04:44 PM   Permalink
This rule has been scrapped!!! JAAGO DOSTO JAAGO... The NRR rule has taken over.. This rule was applied in the last world cup... This world cup ICC will check the NRR when 2 or 3 teams have equal points...

   Forward   |   Report abuse
  RE:RE:Last line wrong
by chandra natarajan on Mar 22, 2007 04:48 PM   Permalink
superb reply Dr. Shivago.

   Forward   |   Report abuse
The above message is part of the Discussion Board:
India chances: What numbers say